FAQ
FAQ

 

FAQ

The Tremipen® is switched on via a push to the button, after a measurement it switches off automatically. 

The measurement process itself is performed in 30 seconds. Including the time to switch on the device and the preparation time of 5 seconds the whole process is performed in 40 seconds.

The Tremipen® is easy to use and nearly identical to the use of a clinical thermometer. The measurement is started via a push to the button; the Tremipen® provides a 5 seconds countdown to take a measurement position. A beep tone sounds, this indicates the start of the measurement. The Tremipen® is held with a loose grip for 30 seconds just like a regular pen. It is important to remain still during the measurement. After 30 seconds another beep tone sounds and the results are shown on the display; the Tremipen® switches off automatically. During the measurement process different icons lead through the single steps.

The Tremipen® is working with a customary AAA battery. Tremitas recommends the brand VARTA Industrial because all functions of the Tremipen® were tested only with this type of battery.

If the Tremipen® is used regularly, for two measurements per day, the battery will work for about 6 months.

Except from changing the battery from time to time there are no costs for maintenance of the Tremipen®. Though as a medical device the Tremipen® needs to be revaluated every two years. This service is offered by Tremitas; the service is settled separately.

Including the battery the Tremipen® weighs approximately 30 grams.

The lifespan of the Tremipen® is 8 years from date of purchase. The lifespan is not bound to warranty, the warranty is two years from date of purchase.

The Tremipen® was developed for the following diseases and symptoms:

  • Parkinson' Disease
  • Essential Tremor
  • Tremor as a symptom

The most common method for tremor assessment is through a trained neurologist by looking at the shaking hands. Also an EMG (electromyography) or an EMG-Accelerometer are used; these methods are only available in clinics or at doctor’s offices. Due to the long processing time they are not used very often.

Seen as physical process, shaking is a sequence of accelerations in the two- and three-dimensional dimension. The Tremipen® measures the force of the shaking (result stated in mG) and the velocity of shaking (result stated in Hz) – so the Tremipen® measures force and velocity of the accelerations that are caused by the tremor.

How often a measurement is made is an individual choice; the attending doctor can advise.

  • It is ideal to measure the tremor twice per day – one measurement before the intake of a medication and one after the intake, when medication has an effect (time depends on the medication)
  • It is also possible to make one measurement per day; these measurements should be made at the same time every day.
  • Another variation is three measurements per month performed on three days in a row.

During a subjective assessment a human assesses the tremor via looking at the shaking hands. The tremor is then rated in a scale e.g. from 0-4. At the objective assessment of tremor, a sensor captures the parameters.

Yes, the Tremipen® is able to measure a tremor that is invisible to the human eye.

International organisations like the “International Parkinson and Movement Disorder Society” (MDS) determine that the regular and objective evaluation of symptoms of diseases like Parkinson’s Disease are not only possible but necessary (tremor is one of this symptoms).
Regular measurements of tremor give an overview of the course of disease. They also provide feedback for the chosen (medical) therapy. In diagnostic processes the Tremipen® can support the initial assessment of tremor.

We want to provide two references that are based on scientific data: The average tremor amplitude of a healthy human is approximately 3mG. We have additionally created two tables where we compare the Tremipen®’s results to international standards for a better understanding of the mG unit. The tables were generated from our own clinical trial. Also there are table for the frequency available. You can find these tables here

The time for measurements can be discussed with the attending doctor. Possible times of day are:

  • in the morning after getting up
  • in the evening before going to bed
  • shortly before the intake of medication
  • shortly after the medication has an effect (time depends on the medication)

It is important that the measurement times are nearly the same for regular measurements; given that they can be compared more objectively.

It depends on the disease and the tremor type which position is the right one for a measurement but there are some standardized measurement positions:

For the Parkinsonian tremor the rest tremor position is the most common one (sitting, hands on the lap), for Essential Tremor the postural tremor position is common (sitting, hands extended forward). On any account a position should be chosen were the tremor is present. Which position is the right one for a patient can be discussed with the attending doctor.

The Tremipen® is held like a regular pen. Thumb and index finger rest on the grip recess, the middle finger supports the Tremipen® from below. Due to that it is possible to hold the Tremipen® with a loose grip.

In 2016 there was a clinical trial on the Tremipen® at the Medical University of Graz. The abstract can be read here

FAQ
FAQ


FAQ

Der Tremipen® wird per Knopfdruck eingeschaltet, nach einer Messung schaltet er sich von selbst wieder aus.

Der Messprozess selbst dauert 30 Sekunden, inklusive Einschalt- und Vorbereitungszeit liegt die Dauer des Prozesses bei rund 40 Sekunden.

Die Bedienung ist einfach und fast identisch zu der eines Fieberthermometers. Der Knopf am Tremipen® wird gedrückt, danach hat man 5 Sekunden Zeit, um sich in Position zu bringen. Ein Piep-Ton ertönt, anschließend hält man das Gerät für 30 Sekunden locker wie einen Schreibstift in der Hand. Aktive Bewegungen müssen vermieden werden. Nach den 30 Sekunden ertönt ein weiterer Piep-Ton und die Messung ist beendet. Das Display zeigt die Messwerte sofort an. Danach schaltet sich der Tremipen® aus. Während allen Schritten zeigen graphische Anweisungen am Display, in welcher Phase man sich befindet.

Der Tremipen® funktioniert mit einer handelsüblichen AAA Batterie. Tremitas empfiehlt die Marke VARTA Industrial, da alle Funktionalitäten des Tremipen® ausschließlich mit diesem Batterietyp getestet wurden.

Bei regelmäßiger Verwendung mit 2 Messungen pro Tag, hält eine Batterie in etwa 6 Monate.

Es fallen außer dem Tausch der Batterie keine laufenden Wartungskosten an. Laut internationalen Richtlinien muss der Tremipen®, als ein Medizinprodukt, alle 2 Jahre überprüft werden. Diesen Wartungs-Service bietet die Tremitas GmbH an; dieser Service wird separat verrechnet.

Inklusive Batterie wiegt der Tremipen® ca. 30 Gramm.

Die Lebensdauer des Tremipen® beträgt 8 Jahre ab Kaufdatum. Die Lebensdauer ist nicht an die Herstellergarantie gebunden, diese beträgt 2 Jahre ab Kaufdatum.

Der Tremipen® ist für folgende Erkrankungen und Symptome entwickelt worden:

  • Parkinson-Krankheit (Morbus Parkinson)
  • Essentieller Tremor
  • Tremor als Symptom

Die häufigste Methode ist das Beobachten des Tremors durch einen geschulten Neurologen. Ebenfalls können EMG (Elektromyographie) oder EMG-Accelerometer verwendet werden; diese stehen aber nur in Kliniken und spezialisierten Arztpraxen zur Verfügung und werden aufgrund des zeitlichen Aufwands nur selten genutzt.

Aus physikalischer Sicht betrachtet ist das Zittern eine Abfolge von Beschleunigungen im zwei- und dreidimensionalen Raum. Der Tremipen® misst einerseits die Stärke des Zitterns (Wert in mG) bei diesen Beschleunigungen, andererseits die Schnelligkeit (Wert in Hz) dieser Beschleunigungen.

Die Messintervalle können individuell und auch mit den behandelnden Ärzten abgestimmt werden:

  • Idealerweise wird 2 Mal täglich gemessen, einmal vor der ersten Medikamenteneinnahme, einmal nachdem die Wirkung eingesetzt hat (abhängig vom jeweiligen Medikament)
  • Ebenfalls möglich ist eine Messung pro Tag, solange die Uhrzeit der Messung jeden Tag gleich gewählt wird.
  • Eine weitere Variante ist pro Monat ein drei Tagen hintereinander zweimal täglich.

Bei der subjektiven Tremorerfassung beobachtet ein Mensch mit den eigenen Augen den Tremor, indem die zitternden Hände beobachtet werden und die Stärke auf einer Skala von zum Beispiel  0-4 eingestuft wird. Bei der objektiven Tremorerfassung misst ein Sensor den Tremor und gibt objektive Messwerte zur Frequenz und Amplitude aus.

Regelmäßige Messungen des Tremors geben durch die objektiven Daten ein gutes Bild, wie sich die Krankheit entwickelt.  Auch geben sie Rückmeldung zu aktuellen (medikamentösen) Therapieansätzen. In Diagnosestraßen können die Messwerte zur Tremorfrequenz und -amplitude des Tremipen® Ersteinschätzungen unterstützen.

Ja, der Tremipen® kann auch einen Tremor erfassen, der vom menschlichen Auge nicht mehr erfasst werden kann.

Internationale Organisationen wie die „International Parkinson and Movement Disorder Society“ (MDS) stellen ganz klar fest, dass die objektive Erfassung von Symptomen bei Erkrankungen wie Parkinson, zu denen auch der Tremor gehört, nicht nur möglich, sondern auch dringend notwendig ist.

Wir möchten insgesamt zwei Referenzwerte zur Verfügung stellen, die auf wissenschaftlichen Daten beruhen. Einerseits liegt das durchschnittliche Zittern von gesunden Menschen bei rund 3mG. Ebenfalls liegt eine Vergleichstabelle vor, die ungefähre Bereiche des Tremorschweregrades definiert. Diese Vergleichstabelle wurde aus unseren Studiendaten generiert. Ebenfalls sind Tabellen für die Frequenz verfügbar. Die Tabellen finden Sie hier

Die Uhrzeiten können individuell und mit den behandelnden Ärzten abgestimmt gewählt werden. Mögliche Uhrzeiten sind:

  • Am Morgen nach dem Aufstehen
  • Am Abend vor dem Schlafen gehen
  • Kurz vor der Medikamenteneinnahme
  • Kurz nachdem die Medikamentenwirkung beginnt (Zeit hängt vom jeweiligen Medikament ab)

Wichtig ist, dass möglichst immer zu selben Uhrzeit gemessen wird, damit der Verlauf des Tremors besser dokumentiert werden kann.

Je nach Erkrankung und Tremor-Art gibt es mehrere standardisierte Positionen für die Messung. Für Parkinson ist zum Beispiel die Ruhetremorposition üblich (Sitzen, Hände auf Schoß ausruhen), beim Essentiellem Tremor ist die Haltetremorposition üblich (Sitzen, Hände nach vorne ausgestreckt). Es sollte eine Position gewählt werden, in der der Tremor präsent ist. Das kann mit den behandelnden Ärzten geklärt werden.

Der Tremipen® wird grundsätzlich wie ein Stift gehalten. Daumen und Zeigefinger liegen in den Griffmulden, der Mittelfinger stützt den Tremipen® von unten. Die Seite mit der Batterieabdeckung liegt locker am Handrücken auf. Dadurch ist es möglich, den Tremipen® möglichst locker zu halten.

Im Jahr 2016 wurde an der Medizinischen Universität Graz eine klinische Studie zum Tremipen® durchgeführt. Die Zusammenfassung dieser Studie finden Sie hier